T minus 8

Well, one week from today I’ll be arriving at Gainesville, Georgia—then on to the Hiker Hostel in Suches, to laugh and fret with some of my twenty or thirty fellow starters. One week from tomorrow, I’ll be on the steps of the Approach Trail (Day 0). Presuming survival, one week from Friday, on International Women’s Day, I’ll be signing the register at the first white blaze on Springer Mountain and heading north. One day at a time!

I’m thrilled, and so grateful for the opportunity to try for this this dream. It makes all those months of working multiple jobs and saving money feel worthwhile. (Isn’t it funny how easy it is to forget the pain of something like that when it’s finished?)

Next week’s weather at the Springer Mountain shelter looks to be highs in the 30s, lows in the 20s, with a fairly perpetual chance of rain and/or snow. Sounds about right. 🙂

Here’s where I get my weather info, shelter by shelter.

For now, I can’t decide whether to clean the toilet or start packing. It would be bad to get them mixed up.

Categories: Appalachian Trail | Tags: , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “T minus 8

  1. Karma,

    Keep the daily countdown posts coming for those of us who are still “On Hold.” Just the mention of “White Blaze #1” stirs my emotions. I’m coming off an enforced Zero Week as I’ve battled a cold / ear infection / bronchitis. Today will be my first trip to “the Rock” since last Monday. Don’t know what to expect. Keep those Posts comin’.

    • Oh, crap! I was hoping you were at a hundred percent! Well, best wishes anyway. I hope you get better soon. If ot’s any consolation, I’ve been more or less sidelined by winter for the past couple of weeks, so I’m looking at a cold start in more ways than one. It is what it is! And whatever it is, I’m as excited as you are!

  2. David W.

    I’m excited for you and am looking forward to hearing about your adventure. May your boots fit well and the toe nails stay on. Wishing you safe travels

    • LOL, thank you kindly! I did lose a toenail a couple of months back during the training hikes and the Great Shoe Quest of 2012. I was oddly happy! =D

  3. Rex Donahoo

    Hey Karma, that weather info link is great, thanks for posting it. See you out there, I start walking on Wednesday from Springer (skipping the approach). R Rex

    • Hey, RR, best of luck! May the wind be at your back—hopefully very, very far at your back. 🙂 Good hiking!

  4. This is now my favorite blog. 🙂 Happy trails, my friend. Send pictures.

    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And until we meet again,
    May the earth care for you along the trail.

    (Yes, I changed the last line to be a little more appropriate.)

  5. {{{Erin}}}

    You’re really kind. No wonder everybody loves you. 🙂

    I’m going to take a bazillion pictures. (I picked up the ‘bazillion picture’ size of memory card.) I probably won’t post them all, but I’m going to aim for posting a few here every day or two. Heck, I might end up posting only pictures, when the typing turns into homework. We’ll see. This is about as ‘go with the flow’ as I’ve ever been privileged to be.

  6. Loon

    Hey Karma…the view at the top of this page is really what make this trip spectacular, don’t ya think? I’m hoping that we’ll have clear days to get those great photos, but you know how it goes…no rain…etc. It’s exciting and surreal that we are this close to our start date. See ya soon!!

    P.S. Could you add my blog to your list on this page? http://walkingloon.blogspot.com

  7. Link added! Nice blog, by the way.

    I can’t freaking WAIT! Bouncebouncebounce. ;D

  8. Wow! You’re almost ready to go 🙂 Happy Hiking! — I still have a whole month to wait 🙂

  9. Hiker’s Mantra

    May the sun bring you energy by day,
    May the moon softly restore you by night,
    May the rain wash away your worries,
    May the breeze blow new strength into your being.
    May you walk gently thru the woods
    and know its beauty all the days of your hike.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.