Day 1: Hawk Mountain Shelter

So here we are. So much to share, so little energy! =D

Woke up at the Hiker Hostel to a gorgeous dawn, followed by an outstanding breakfast. I don’t care as much about food as I will later, but there were eggs and waffles and oatmeal and grits. I’m sire the vrits were delicious, but I’m a northerner, so they scare me.

Then it was off to the trail. The Approach Trail had always been a game-day decision, but I’d fully intended to do it. But at the HH, I got a chance to talk to lots of people about it, and universally the answer was ‘No. If I had it to do over, I’d skip it.’ It started to feel like that old ‘I sent you a car, a boat, and a helicopter’ story. The Approach Trail isn’t part of the AT—it’s just the commute. So I finally got the message and took the shuttle straight to Springer.

The climb to the summit was clear but the ground was snow covered and icy. I met section hikers Tank and Gollum, laughed with them, then headed north to Hawk Mountain.

The ice melted. The day was mild and sunny, filled with mountains and mud. I loved every minute.

The shelter area is packed. There must be thirty or forty tents here! The night’s already cold—going down to 22, somebody said. But I’m already learning about trail rumore and gossip, so who knows? I’m snug in my tent. I’ve definitely got a learning curve ahead of me.

Oh, and there’s some sort of army training ground near here, and they’re doing war games this weekend. A helicopter just flew overhead! 🙂

Sorry for the typos. Small phone, frozen fingers.

All in all, today was a solid 10.

20130308-120718.jpg

20130308-120709.jpg

20130308-120658.jpg

Categories: Appalachian Trail | Tags: | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 1: Hawk Mountain Shelter

  1. Karma … terribly exciting … you’re underway! Something happened to the 3 photos that were part of your Post … they aren’t on your Internet WP site and weren’t in the email. Keep on hikin’! Javelin

  2. Peg

    I’m shivering reading about you sleeping in tent. I wish you a warm, sunny morning.

  3. Donna

    Sounds wonderful! Sending WARM wishes and ({hugs}). Miss ya! D

  4. my first night at hawk mountain shelter was totally bizarre as army helicopters came thundering over, soldiers came through the forest and the most traumatic thing of all, a mother/son team that snored loud enough to threaten national security. i wondered what i’d gotten myself into night 1! 🙂

  5. hey as it gets ccold and if you are carrying enough fuel heat up water and take a hot water bottle to bed with you. there were a couple of nights on the trail where that was the only way to have thawed water in the morning so it did double duty to keep the water thawed and warmed up the sleeping bag. just make sure that lid is on tightly!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.