Poised!

Random observation: After not having driven for almost four months (with a few low-key errands around home to stretch my road legs), suddenly doing a massive road trip in an unfamiliar car on crazy I-95 is surreal. Not bad surreal; in fact, kind of interesting surreal. The intriguing thing is that after all those years of driving to Maine (for grad school) and Michigan, my brain remembered all the tricks of distance driving much more easily than it remembered… oh… how to turn on the water in my shower or where I keep the paper towels and what’s my usual order of business in the morning.

I returned the rental car with no trouble and mailed home my GPS. Then I got a taxi to the bus station. My cab driver thru-hiked 35 years ago and gave me a lot of great information. Then I killed seven hours waiting for the bus from Bangor to Little Town #1. Interesting fact: The bus station in Bangor is about the size of the waiting room at my ophthalmologist’s office. Actually, they’re kind of similar except that the bus station has an actual pay phone on the wall. A pay phone! No Superman, though. And no Doctor Who. But the bus station has carpeting! You’d never see that in Philly.

When I said I had no magical thinking about Katahdin, I meant as a hiking destination. In fact, the idea of climbing a mountain inhabited by an ancient god of storms (Pamola) thrills my crazy pagan heart. Kind of like climbing Mount Olympus. How cool is that?

I’m at the AT lodge in Millinocket. Nice hostel! Cute trail town! There are four other hikers here, none of whom has any experience. One came from the Netherlands! One guy is quitting already because of a medical issue; he’ll try NOBO in a year or two. None of them have trail names yet.

Sparkles, the proprietess, said they’re seeing flippers now; the big wave of southbounders will be starting a bit later. I’m also told that while the skeeters and black flies are bad, they’re nothing like they were two weeks ago.

I’m changing my plans just a little, I think. I’m here, Katahdin’s here, the weather tomorrow’s going to be outstanding… what the hell. Tomorrow, I think I’m climbing a mountain. πŸ™‚

20130713-220138.jpg

20130713-220257.jpg

20130713-220306.jpg

20130713-220313.jpg

Categories: Appalachian Trail | Tags: | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Poised!

  1. Shari wb

    Yo Girl. You are there! Yay! You can do it!

    I want to share my bloomsburg nature experience w you.

    I was running down by the river and nope, no rattlesnake. No bugs eating my face. No poison ivy threatening my sanity. No ticks under my tent but a gaggle of geese…. Yes geese… threatened my life. Im telling you. When u are pounding the pavement and fifty geese turn to look at you with those beady black eyes its scary!!! They definately win at “Chicken”.

    My little adventure for you to think abt as you climb climb climb.

    Ok. Im looking forward to your wonderful posts! Remember. Its just a whole bunch of one-day hikes!

  2. Yay! I love how flexible you are. I think that is a big reason you are successful at this and probably anything you do.

    I hope you have a wonderful climb tomorrow. I am so looking forward to your pictures.

    Safe travels. I leave for long crew in two days. I so look forward to chatting with you next year on the land.

  3. Karma13, I am very proud of you. I hope you have a great launch day. The only thing I can say is that it seems like you worry yourself to death. This half will be less to worry about but remember this; worrying does nothing to change tomorrow, and just screws up today. You are going to be great. I’ll be watching because I am already planning to flip next year, just because. May God bless you. – We Shall See 2014

  4. I am very much looking forward to your adventure on Katahdin! Have fun!!

    • It was amazing! Sorry for the late reply. Darn Hundred-Mile Wilderness! πŸ™‚

      • No worries πŸ™‚ I am so glad you enjoyed it. I just started reading your entries…looking forward to the whole scoop!

  5. Beth

    Can not wait to hear about this one!

  6. Blackbird

    It’s going to be a good story. Weather up there was near perfect today!

  7. Donna

    Best of luck with part II of your wonderful journey.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.