Day 165: Lincoln

Liberty Spring Campsite [mile 1388.8; SOBO 370.4]

I hiked with some dead guys today, including Lincoln. After the summit of Mt. Lincoln, there was a ranger. He asked how the thru hike was going (we smell bad and are easily identifiable by the plummage of duct tape), then said I’d just been above 5000 feet for the last time until Mt. Rogers. And I said I flipped, and I’d already done Mt. Rogers (in Virginia). So I guess I’m done! I won’t be above 5000 feet again for the duration of this hike. Maybe forever; who knows? Ironically (given how much I hate uphills), the thought makes me a little sad.

So. It rained last night! Man, did it rain. It rained torrentially, most of the night, with thunder and lightning that must have been doing a number up on the ridge. I didn’t wake up super early, and the worst of the downpour had stopped by the time I rolled out of the tent. But everything was just soaked. I’ll be so glad to get to town tomorrow (I hope I can find a place to stay on Labor Day, of all days).

The morning continued gray and foggy and slick, like hiking through the inside of an oyster. I started out by finishing the climb to Mt. Garfield—rugged hand-and-foot climbing that would have done Maine proud. A lot of the last two days has been rugged.

The top of Garfield was pea soupish! I found the tiniest bit of internet signal, but lost it again a quarter mile down from the summit and never got it back all day. That frustrates me.

After Garfield came Mt. Lafayette at 5291 feet. A long climb: but the summit was amazing. Upstairs the thick fog turned to partial clouding. There were breaks in the white, and cracks of blue that gave me the most amazing traverse across the Franconia Ridge! Stunning. The thick clouds, oddly, added to the breathtaking beauty; they framed the views and highlighted the majesty of what was visible.

What an afternoon.

Also oddly, there were, I kid you not, 500 people were up there. It was a veritable United Nations, for two miles of ups and downs above treeline. Disconcerting! I’m looking forward to getting back to the woods. 😉

But tomorrow… into town! I hope I can find a place to stay. I can’t wait to connect with people again (meaning you)! I’ve felt pretty cut off. I loathe these long periods when I can’t get a signal, grrr.

20130901-182259.jpg

20130901-182324.jpg

20130901-182344.jpg

20130901-182431.jpg

20130901-182504.jpg

20130901-182532.jpg

Categories: Appalachian Trail | Tags: | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Day 165: Lincoln

  1. Indiana Bill G.

    Glad you made it through safe and great to see the updates. I’ll be there in the whites in less than 2 weeks and hoping the summer crowd is gone, not that I don’t like people but……..so franconia ridge walk is it semi-safe feeling or trip and plummet feeling?

    • No plummetage at all. And I even got close to the edges of things. I think it depends on what you’re headed for if you fall off. Up there, it’s just more rocks… not a big long plunge into nothing.

  2. Beth

    Beth makes all the comments, thought I’d throw one in the mix for a change. Thanks for taking us along for the ride.

  3. Hi Karma! So glad you finally got a signal and posted on your trail blog! I’ve been “biting my nails” wondering where you were and how your trudge thru the Whites was going! How and where can I send you a maildrop maybe with some goodies? I notice you have “Maine Man” listed on your fellow 2013ers; he is my brother-in-law. You are doing great! ~~Flame

    • I appreciate the thought, but no more maildrops for me! (My schedule’s just too erratic.) Thank you so much, though! What a trail angel!

      How cool that Maine Man’s your brother-in-law! That’s awesome!

  4. shari wb

    And… what about bears? I guess no interactions since you didnt even mention them!!

    xoxoxo

  5. Marge

    Just breathtaking pics, Karma. “Hiking through the inside of an oyster?!!” You are so talented at making things so visible. So glad you are becoming a nicely balanced combination of a “calculated risk taker” and “close your eyes and jump!” It is awesome witnessing this amazing transformation on your Miraculous journey. Ok….taped out of my big adjectives!!

  6. I hate when you don’t have signal. I was afraid you fell off the map! 🙂

    Sounds like you are having a much better hike than the Maine Paine. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.