Day 215: New Joisey!

Stealthing on Wawayanda Mountain [mile 1850.4; SOBO 832.0]

I feel like every post title needs an exclamation point.

If all goes according to plan and the trail is willing, in one month I’ll be lipsmacking my last white blaze. Fingers crossed!

In the meantime… milestones! Or one milestone, anyway. I crossed into New Jersey today! New York and New Jersey continue to maintain a very close relationship for the next few days; the trail pingpongs between them just like it did with North Carolina and Tennessee, way back when.

So. I didn’t pack last night. I’ve got it down to such a system that even with a resupply to be baggied I don’t bother until the morning. It took me a little longer to get out today because I like to leave the hotel rooms in decent shape. Then there was that long climb back up the mountain, and when I hit the AT it was 7:45. Poo.

New York treated me to a nice ridgewalk. The trail meandered over rocks like a school of dolphins. The day was the way it’s been: blue and bright and crisp. Even the bees are still out. Whenever I stopped, a yellowjacket found me and forced me to move on.

I eventually hit the highest point on the trail in New York—then, you know, I started to feel the Jersey! The soil got looser; the forest had more pines. And boom! State line.

Still to go: the rest of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia. Holy crap, that lost is getting short.

I saw bunches of deer today, at least six or eight. At one point I rolled my ankle hard, and when I stopped to rub it, in the quiet a young buck walked across the trail about twenty feet away. He was down in a dell and didn’t see me up above him. His antlers were small. He actually looked like he was wearing a pair of those Christmas reindeer antlers. Ho ho ho. Maybe it’s Christmas in Deerland.

And that’s it! Shortish day tomorrow so I can do my next, bigger resupply the next morning. That’ll take me into the Mohican Outdoor Center.

Oh, I almost forgot! Near the border I came to a place where the rocks were purple. Purple! Purple rock! That fascinated me. Once again I took about thirty pictures of… rocks. 😉

20131021-190147.jpg

20131021-190202.jpg

20131021-190319.jpg

20131021-190335.jpg

20131021-190358.jpg

20131021-190410.jpg

20131021-190428.jpg

20131021-190445.jpg

20131021-190513.jpg

20131021-190524.jpg

Categories: Appalachian Trail | Tags: | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Day 215: New Joisey!

  1. The leaf litter looks tough. Like, where’s the trail? The purple rock looks like shale with iron oxide in it. As always, great pix. Hike on!

  2. Kim Dexter

    Hi Karma, my name is Kim Dexter and my dad is “Javelin”. He was staying with me in CT when he went to visit you in MA somewhere. Since then I’ve been following your posts and am in total awe of your journey. I really enjoy the way you write and am so excited for you that you are nearing “the end”!! Wishing you health and good weather! 😉 Looking forward to your next post!

    • Kim! Nice to meet you! I love your dad! It was great to get a chance to meet him in person. 🙂

      • Kim Dexter

        He was very happy to meet you too. Good luck this next month or so! You’re almost there!

  3. What’s with the ladder? 🙂

    • Right?! At least in New England they used wood. LOL.

      That’s the second aluminum ladder I’ve seen perched next to a cliff.

  4. I can’t understand how you can stay on the trail. You want us to bring you something when you come through PA.

  5. That was a question, not a statement. 🙂

    • LOL. I figured!

      Thank you so much! I’ll be home in 3 or 4 weeks, though. DONE. My focus for Pennsylvania will be to get through it as soon as humanly possible, for an old fart with bad knees.

  6. What I meant when I said I can’t understand how you stay on the trail is how do you find it under those leaves! Put the hammer down and get home, girl!

    • You sort of get a sense of where the trail’s most likely to be. I spend a LOT of time turning around and looking behind me to try to parse out where the last blaze was pointing to. Sometimes it even works! =D

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.